The George Peabody Library17 E Mount Vernon Pl http://peabodyevents.library.jhu.edu/
- Partially Accessible
- Limited Hours
- Photography Permitted
The Peabody Library building, which opened in 1878, was designed by Baltimore architect Edmund G. Lind, in collaboration with the Peabody Institute’s first provost, Dr. Nathaniel H. Morison. Renowned for its breathtaking architectural interior and impressive collection of books, the Peabody Stack Room contains five tiers of ornamental cast-iron balconies rising towards a skylight that runs the length of the space. Ornate and delicate classical details adorn the interior, including fluted columns with ionic capitals, the Greek key motif on the perimeter of the balconies and elaborate moldings throughout the space.
The Library will be open for Doors Open Baltimore from 10am – 1pm.
Photos by: Brian Miller, Full Circle Fine Art ServicesVisit Baltimore Heritage for more historic info on this site
Other Northeast sites you may be interested in:
2701 St Lo Dr
Chase Brexton Healthcare
1111 N Charles St
Charm City Meadworks at the Old Postal Garage
407 E Preston St, Suite B